manshi44
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2023 5:12 pm

How to control pointWidth of the milestones in navigator of gantt chart?

Hi,

When I am using pointWidth property on series data of gantt chart I can see the size of milestones gets adjusted according to the pointWidth value as expected. But If this property changes size of milestones in navigator as well and that looks weird.
https://ibb.co/N151gFD This image shows milestone size if pointWidth : 15
https://ibb.co/hxz0vZJ this image shows milestone size if pointWidth is not set.

I would like to set pointWidth on milestone but I dont want increased size on the navigator. It looks too crowed when I have 20-25 milestones in same month.
Here is my code https://codepen.io/manshi44/pen/KKrzOGy?editors=0010
Please suggest how can i achieve this?
jakub.j
Posts: 1084
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2023 11:14 am

Re: How to control pointWidth of the milestones in navigator of gantt chart?

Thank you for contacting us with your issue.

Unfortunately, you can't do it directly using any property from the API, but you can update the points in the navigator series with point.update method on chart.events.load. The points' pointWidth value can be updated either to undefined (to go back to the default state) or to any value e.g. 10.

Check out the demo below:
Demo: https://codepen.io/Jakub-Januchta/pen/z ... itors=0010

Let me know if that was what you were looking for!
Best regards
Jakub
Jakub
Highcharts Developer
manshi44
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2023 5:12 pm

New Post: Gantt chart rendering empty chart if I have 100+ data points

Hi Jacub,

I am replying to my old post because I don't see button to create new post here even after login.

I created Mendix widget using Highchart Gantt chart and it was working all okay. But all of sudden it breaks now and I can see empty chart even when I have data. You can see here in this image https://ibb.co/CPWTLSc

After investigation I realized, Gantt chart supports only 1000 milestones and I have more milestone (series objects) and that is why it is showing empty chart.

I tried to reproduce this issue in one of the demo examples you guys have provided. And yes I was able to reproduce it and I can certainly say that Gantt chart works only for 1000 or less than that many series objects.

Here, in this link https://codepen.io/manshi44/pen/OJagXXP?editors=0010
you can see, I am creating 1001 series objects in a loop and chart breaks. If you edit that length variable and make it as 1000 (or <1000) then it works.


Now my question is, Is this expected behavior for Gantt chart?

And if yes I would also like to know how can I increase this limit as its not gonna work my scenario. The app we are developing is for users and we can not limit their milestone number.

Please comment on this.

Thanks
jakub.j
Posts: 1084
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2023 11:14 am

Re: How to control pointWidth of the milestones in navigator of gantt chart?

Hello again!

If you check out the console, you can see Highcharts warning #12 which basically says that your number of points exceeds the series.turboThreshold limit which is 1000 by default. To let the chart render more than 1000 points, you need to set the threshold to a higher value, see like 81 in the demo below:

Demo: https://codepen.io/jakubjanuchta/pen/bG ... itors=0010

Feel free to ask any further questions!
Kind regards
Jakub
Jakub
Highcharts Developer
manshi44
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2023 5:12 pm

Re: How to control pointWidth of the milestones in navigator of gantt chart?

Hi Jakub,

Thanks for update, yeah I got it now its working fine. I will set larger value there.

Thanks,
Manohar

Return to “Highcharts Gantt”