Arctic-101

.setVisible crashes application/ Can’t change visibility for individual datapoints

Hello. I’m relatively new to highcharts and JavaScript development in general. I am making an application to compile and show flight data using a world map from highcharts . It handles a lot of data and each flight is grouped into a highchart series by date and mapped out onto the world map.

Now here’s the problem, I am making a new feature that would allow the user to filter the flights by date, only showing the flights within the selected date range. This is achieved using .setVisible on all highchart series with the incorrect date value. This works but it takes a very, very long time and almost crashes the application.

I’ve narrowed the problem down to come from .setVisible as to what’s taking up all the processing power. Previously I had all flights grouped in the same highchart series and tried setting the visibility locally for each datapoint, but then they were overridden by the visibility property for the series that they were stored in. Due to this I made each date into its own series.

If there’s anything I’ve done wrong or any solution to this that you can think of, I’d highly appreciate your input. Thank you :D
jakub.s

Re: .setVisible crashes application/ Can’t change visibility for individual datapoints

Hi,

Welcome to our forum & thanks for the question!

You can use point.update({ visible: true }). The second argument of the points.update() is the redraw which determines whether the chart is going to be redrawn immediately after the update.

If you update a few points in a row, you should set this to false and redraw the chart after all the updates are performed.

API: https://api.highcharts.com/class-refere ... int#update

Here's a short demo: https://jsfiddle.net/BlackLabel/ucqsnv8p/

I believe that this example will help you.

If not, please do not hesitate to let me know.

Best regards,
Jakub
Jakub
Highcharts Developer
Arctic-101