torstein.honsi
Site Admin
Posts: 9215
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

New ultra lightweight Alpha

A test page is set up for the next version here, and anyone interested is invited to test the new features. The most important new feature is the Configurator, which allows you to strip away the functionality you don't need, allowing a filesize of 8.5 kB for core features! Other news are a complete event model, unobtrusive syntax, resizing, better caption syntax, self rendered contents wrappers for iframes and ajax, and auto-detect iframe size. Bugs can be reported in this thread before the stable release, in the meanwhile I'll go working on the documentation.
stefanpausch
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 10:44 am

I love you! :oops: - Playing with the alpha right now and it works like a charm (haven't played much, yet).

Just wanted to mention that there should be a warning on the test pages, that not -all- examples work withthe default setting and you load the choosen js on the fly. I first started playing with the exampels and noticed that a few output errors. Thought it was a bug on the testpage, until i checked all checkboxes, updated and played with the examples again - am i confusing?
stefanpausch
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 10:44 am

Question: What exact does "Unobtrusive" version do?
stefanpausch
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 10:44 am

(Excuse my multiple replies. If it is unwanted i will edit posts on further posts)

Bug: hs.captionTemplateId = 'the-template'; is not working in the 3.3 alpha anymore. The template contents isn't displayed (if i swap the highslide.packed.js bak to 3.2.7 the template is show again)
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
Posts: 9215
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Just wanted to mention that there should be a warning on the test pages, that not -all- examples work withthe default setting
I agree! It will be done.
What exact does "Unobtrusive" version do?
Unobtrusive means (roughly) that you don't put any JavaScript code inline like onclick. If you look at the markup for the unobtrusive examples, you will see that the only thing Highslide needs to pick up the links is a rel attribute.
Bug: hs.captionTemplateId = 'the-template'; is not working in the 3.3 alpha anymore
I took away the hs.captionTemplateId in the 3.3, because I think templating could be done much more elegantly using events, and with respect to the ever-lasting demand of keeping filesize down. This is an example of templating in the new version:

Code: Select all

HsExpander.prototype.onAfterGetCaption = function(sender) {
  this.caption.innerHTML = this.caption.innerHTML.replace('{filesize}', this.content.src);
}

Code: Select all

<div class="highslide-caption">
This image's filename is {filename}.
</div>
Furthermore the captionEval and captionText options were added.
stefanpausch
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 10:44 am

Thanks for the answers. I welcome the new event types, but the construct is maybe a bit too complex for "normal users"?
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
Posts: 9215
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Code: Select all

the construct is maybe a bit too complex for "normal users"?
The idea is that "normal users" don't need events, but with good examples the most common tasks could be explained. I don't think the event example is a lot more complex than the captionTemplateId syntax, but it is no doubt much more powerful.
alakhnor
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 7:21 pm
Location: Lyon
Contact: Website

HS was never made for "normal users" if a normal user is someone that just want a click-and-go solution. :P

Brilliant job with this version and all the new things! can't wait!
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
Posts: 9215
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Thank you for the compliments!

Code: Select all

HS was never made for "normal users"
Well, it should be! Many of the users have no experience at all in JavaScript, or even HTML. They too should have a simple package to set up, and Highslide should just work out of the box.
alakhnor
Posts: 160
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 7:21 pm
Location: Lyon
Contact: Website

I still consider HS more simple than jquery to set up if you do not have any dev history.

By the way, an option to be able to fire and close from the same link would be great. ;)
shavit
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:48 pm

Hi,

Great work.

When dragging expanded images, the thumbnails are visible.
They were unvisible in previous version.
Is it supose to be that way or did I fail to add a feature :?:

Tnx.

Danny
User avatar
EarlyOut
Posts: 1705
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2007 9:22 pm
Location: Sector R
Contact: Website

I've observed some inconsistent behavior of the control bar in 3.3. When arrowing from one slide to the next, sometimes the control bar completes only half its fade-in, leaving a ghostly partial image. It seems to occur at random.
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
Posts: 9215
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Thank you EarlyOut, I found the bug.
torstein.honsi
Site Admin
Posts: 9215
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:22 am
Location: Vik i Sogn, Norway

Danny,

There is a new CSS rule, .highslide-active-anchor that applies to the <a> when the image is opened. From now on, you define via CSS what should happen to the thumbnail:

Code: Select all

.highslide-active-anchor img {
	visibility: hidden;
}
shavit
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:48 pm

Thank you.

Danny

Return to “News”