ceeol
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:50 am

Marker Trouble

Hi,

I have a problem with the user interface in setting the marker settings for the series in the user interface.
While I have read up on the documentation, so that I understand that the marker option should be a JSON object, I don't understand how to insert that JSON object in the input field given (with advanced).

A valid marker shows as "[Object object]" (advanced view), while mine, which is now invalid, creates all kinds of problems in the Javascript.

I am actually looking for a way out of this, similar to editing in the preview of the settings, where I would have been able to fix it...

Regards,
Ole
rafalS
Posts: 2665
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 11:40 am

Re: Marker Trouble

Hi, Ole!

In Highcharts Cloud you can set marker's options in two ways:

1) Go to: Customize chart -> ADVANCED tab -> Plot Options -> Series -> Marker. You can set options there.

2) Also, you can go to: Customize chart -> CUSTOM CODE tab and set options in a "JSON" (object) format as you said:

Code: Select all

// Sample of extending options:
Highcharts.merge(true, options, {
    plotOptions: {
        series: {
            marker: {
             	radius: 12,
              	fillColor: 'red'
            }
        }
    }
});
Hope I helped. Best regards!
Rafal Sebestjanski,
Highcharts Team Lead
ceeol
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:50 am

Re: Marker Trouble

Well the advanced tab gives you a simple string input field (is that actually a bug?). How do I insert the correct JSON into that?
I would prefer to use the interface rather than instructing my less advanced users to use Javascript to create the chart.

Ole
ceeol
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:50 am

Re: Marker Trouble

Mind you, I am looking at "Marker" under Series, not plot options. The reason is that I have two series, each showing at a different y-axis, and assumed I needed to set the marker options there.
Now I am in a Catch22 situation because the marker options for one of the series are invalid.

Check out the attachment.
Attachments
highcharts-marker.jpg
highcharts-marker.jpg (116.84 KiB) Viewed 6947 times
rafalS
Posts: 2665
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 11:40 am

Re: Marker Trouble

ceeol,

You are right, it is a bug. Thank you for catching this. We will try to fix this in the new version of Cloud: 3.0.
For this moment, as a workaround, you can use these options in CUSTOM CODE:

Code: Select all

Highcharts.merge(true, options, {
    series: [{
      marker: {
       radius: 7
      }
    }, {
      marker: {
       radius: 17 
      }
    }]
});
Best regards!
Rafal Sebestjanski,
Highcharts Team Lead
ceeol
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:50 am

Re: Marker Trouble

Probably belongs in a separate post, but: Will version 3.0 be backwards compatible with what we have now? Any launch date you can tell us about? Need to know whether I should spend a lot of time on this version, or go directly for version 3.
rafalS
Posts: 2665
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 11:40 am

Re: Marker Trouble

ceeol,

Everything should be compatible with the new 3.0 version. We do not know when exactly will it be released, but should in a few weeks.

https://www.highcharts.com/documentation/roadmap

Best regards!
Rafal Sebestjanski,
Highcharts Team Lead
rafalS
Posts: 2665
Joined: Thu Jun 14, 2018 11:40 am

Re: Marker Trouble

Hi, ceeol,

ETA for Highcharts Cloud 3.0 is the middle of December.

Best regards!
Rafal Sebestjanski,
Highcharts Team Lead

Return to “Highcharts Cloud”