lothernite
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2023 9:58 am

Problem with range input on Firefox

Mon Jul 03, 2023 10:06 am

Hey!
I noticed problem with datepicker in Highcharts on Firefox browser. When I try to go a few years ahead or back the datepicker somewhat "submit" itself and change the range of chart to one year ahead or back. It's kinda annoying when I want to e.g. go 10 years ahead and have to go through datepicker 10 times.
You can see the problem on Firefox browser on this demo: https://www.highcharts.com/demo/stock/data-grouping
I recorded demo video of a problem: https://streamable.com/0x9cpr

Thank you for any help!

lothernite
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2023 9:58 am

Re: Problem with range input on Firefox

Mon Jul 03, 2023 1:48 pm

In a meantime I posted a workaround prototype for that - https://jsfiddle.net/qfuyneht/
You can see the change in onchange event - I removed the blur trigger at the end and now it works on Firefox correctly!
But it shouldn't be like this, that you have to prototype whole function to fix one onchange event.

jedrzej.r
Posts: 515
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2023 11:21 am

Re: Problem with range input on Firefox

Mon Jul 03, 2023 2:17 pm

Hi!

Welcome to our forum and thanks for reaching out to us with your issue.

Indeed, this issue exists only on Firefox and we need to figure out if it is a bug related to Highcharts of Firefox. Great approach with the workaround as it seems to solve the issue. You couid also disable the Highstock datePicker and add your own date inputs, then call xAxis.setExtremes function on input blur event.

Workaround: https://jsfiddle.net/BlackLabel/59xq3j2z/

API:
https://api.highcharts.com/class-refere ... etExtremes

I'll get back to you as soon as we figure out the root cause of this issue!
Best regards!
Jędrzej Ruta
Highcharts Developer

lothernite
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2023 9:58 am

Re: Problem with range input on Firefox

Mon Jul 03, 2023 2:45 pm

Thanks for trying to help me! But as I test your workaround - it doesn't work correctly on Firefox :(
https://streamable.com/qlp9j2
I'll get back to you as soon as we figure out the root cause of this issue!
Thanks! It'll help me a lot!

dawid.d
Posts: 703
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2022 11:31 am

Re: Problem with range input on Firefox

Tue Jul 04, 2023 10:08 am

Hi,

I see you've reported this issue in our GitHub repository: https://github.com/highcharts/highcharts/issues/19289
Thank you! You can expect updates and possible workarounds there.

Best regards

Return to “Highcharts Stock”