rushikesh
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 10:14 am

Re: Put marker on x axis

Tue Jun 27, 2023 10:35 am

if I set breaks in my app, then it seems that ordinal has stopped working. i am expecting that breaks don't get involved in plotting the points, graph's view should like same as before. just that weekend days should be excluded from the calculation of range selector buttons.

jakub.j
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2023 11:14 am

Re: Put marker on x axis

Tue Jun 27, 2023 5:18 pm

Hey!

The problem with the points seems to be caused by dataGrouping, I'm digging into it.

I will get to you ASAP with a response about it, for now, I was able to find a workaround which is disabling the dataGrouping on the Sell Volume and Buy Volume series. I also enabled plotOptions.series.getExtremesFromAll which helps with the chart flickering when changing extremes, check out the demo:

Demo: https://jsfiddle.net/BlackLabel/Lh9ks6nq/
Let me know if that helps you!

Regarding the breaks and ordinal, I don't see a point using them both, because ordinal does the same as breaks, it just removes all the missing spaces between points but automatically. I would rather use just one of them at the time. If you have an example where you really need it and it causes problems, please send me a demo and I will be able to help you with that.

Best regards!
Jakub
Jakub
Highcharts Developer

rushikesh
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 10:14 am

Re: Put marker on x axis

Tue Jun 27, 2023 5:46 pm

Jakub, will you please also check my last last comment starting with sentence "there is one more issue.". It is also important for my users.

jakub.j
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2023 11:14 am

Re: Put marker on x axis

Thu Jun 29, 2023 8:03 am

Hey rushikesh.

As an answer to what you wrote in "there is one more issue" I replied in the last message with the workaround on the demo, when I disabled the dataGrouping on Sell Volume and Buy Volume series, your points are visible on load as desired, please check out the demo.

Today I will dig into it even further and check if it is a bug or problem in the config and I will let you know!

Best regards
Jakub
Jakub
Highcharts Developer

rushikesh
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 10:14 am

Re: Put marker on x axis

Thu Jun 29, 2023 8:49 am

Oh okay. Thanks Jakub!

jakub.j
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2023 11:14 am

Re: Put marker on x axis

Thu Jun 29, 2023 10:18 am

Hey!

I can see that you posted a duplicate post on our forum. We work as a single team across all support platforms. Please do not duplicate your topics because it only disrupts our work.

You do not have to worry because we always answer all questions on our support platforms.

I see that you also reported this issue on our GH: https://github.com/highcharts/highcharts/issues/19243, thanks for that! Our team will respond there ASAP.

As a workaround, I would suggest to use either what jakub.s has sent you with setting xAxis.overScroll -> https://jsfiddle.net/BlackLabel/rvho80k6/ or disabling the dataGrouping for Sell Volume and Buy Volume series which I proposed on Tuesday -> https://jsfiddle.net/BlackLabel/khfwL561/.

I hope you will find it useful
Best regards
Jakub
Jakub
Highcharts Developer

rushikesh
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 10:14 am

Re: Put marker on x axis

Fri Jun 30, 2023 9:01 am

Thanks, Jakub.

consider a use-case when we need two x-axes. both linked and showing the different labels on different x-axes based on business requirements.
users want to see some extra details in the x-axises label along with time.
users want to see the buy volume in the second graph data grouped and also want to see the buy marker (that, at this time, and with a price on the y-axis when the trade happened) without data grouping.

To make my point clear, Consider this demo project -> https://jsfiddle.net/sLtkfh2x/

I have put extra buy volume and marker. buy volume has data grouping and buy volume marker does not have data grouping.

The last buy volume and buy volume marker are not visible when the chart is loaded.
If I hide the market volume using a legend and played with the range using the navigator I could see garbaged labels on the second x-axis.

earlier in this discussion thread and as said in viewtopic.php?f=12&t=51074, it is clarified that if I have only one x-axis (rather than 2 linked x-axis) and if I set the overscroll property then the issue is resolved.
but in a use-case, when we need 2 x-axes, this seems a bug in highcharts. If the whole range of data is supposed to be displayed then why hide any point?

first query: Is it a bug that the last buy volume and marker are not visible? to fix what is a workaround? and is it a bug that second x-axis labels are garbaged when hiding marker volume for some range?

I have posted a bug issue: https://github.com/highcharts/highcharts/issues/19243 but this posted GitHub issue is not related to the above point because the above-mentioned issue is for 2 linked x-axis with the last volume and marker are not visible.


Second point, earlier in this thread I mentioned a demo project: https://jsfiddle.net/9mr70ze2/. my post starts with '@kamil.m, I am facing another issue.....'

This is also a bug because even if the linked x-axises are there and if I hide a series, highcharts should not garbage the labels because linking the x-axis has to do with x-axis extremes but it should not affect the labels ideally.

Second query: Is this also a bug?

Before I post the bug in GitHub, it is worth discussing over here.

jakub.j
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2023 11:14 am

Re: Put marker on x axis

Mon Jul 03, 2023 1:50 pm

Hello again

According to what you sent me, https://jsfiddle.net/sLtkfh2x/ the issue in this demo seems to be connected with what you have reported in this ticket: https://github.com/highcharts/highcharts/issues/19243. If you want, you can link your demo in that issue and when it will be done, our developers will make sure that it is fixed, if not, there will be a separated ticket reported. Unfortunately, I'm couldn't find a workaround for this one, you will need to wait, if any will be posted on GH or just for the ticket to be finished.

According to the labels on linked axis, there is also a bug reported on GH: https://github.com/highcharts/highcharts/issues/15929 with very similar issue.

Best regards
Jakub
Jakub
Highcharts Developer

rushikesh
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 10:14 am

Re: Put marker on x axis

Mon Jul 10, 2023 10:12 am

Also there is one more bug.
https://jsfiddle.net/0f3aj4oy/ -> consider this demo project.
here I have added range selection buttons.
and by default "All" button is enabled which means whole range.
but after chart is loaded, again click on the "All" button, you will see that some portion of the graph is not shown in left side.

If I click on the "All" button, whole range should be shown without excluding any range on left side.

rushikesh
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 10:14 am

Re: Put marker on x axis

Mon Jul 10, 2023 10:20 am

If I increase the value of overscroll, then left side removed portion(after again clicking All button) is also increased and vice versa.
that shows it has relation with value of overscroll.

jakub.j
Posts: 857
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2023 11:14 am

Re: Put marker on x axis

Mon Jul 10, 2023 1:55 pm

Hey!

It also think that it seems like a bug, so I have created a GitHub issue for it.
You can watch this issue in the link below and track any information for this one.

As a workaround, you can create a custom button which sets the extremes manually using xAxis.setExtremes, see demo:
Demo: https://jsfiddle.net/BlackLabel/wtzjc7L5/

I hope you will find it useful
Best regards
Jakub
Jakub
Highcharts Developer

Return to “Highcharts Stock”